Energy Research Centre

Home

About ERC

Research

Download publications

Postgraduate education

Seminars & courses

Journal of Energy

E. Management News

Coming energy events

Staff

Contact ERC

 

Development & Mitigation Forum

THE ERC BLOGS

 

 

Staff

Researchers at ERC have qualifications in engineering, natural and environmental sciences, urban and regional planning, economics, law, politics, sociology and anthropology.

Contact list - click on names for more details about staff members

Fax number for all staff members: +27 (021) 650 2830

 

Prof. Harald Winkler

Director of ERC

  +27 (0)21 650 2100

harald.winkler@uct.ac.za

     

RESEARCH STAFF

Mr Fadiel Ahjum
Researcher:
Energy systems analysis and planning
Focus: intersection of water and power

  +27 (0)21 650 2577

mf.ahjum@uct.ac.za

Dr Katye Altieri
Group leader: Energy, environment and climate change
Focus:

  +27 (0)21 650 3230

katye.altieri@uct.ac.za

Dr Bothwell Batidzirai

Senior Research Officer: Energy, poverty  and development

Energy access and inclusive green growth, bio-energy technology assessment, bio-based economy

  +27 (0)21 650 3767

bothwell.batidzirai@uct.ac.za

Ms Tara Caetano

Researcher: Energy, environment and climate change

  +27 (0)21 650 3230

tara.caetano@gmail.com

Mr Michael Boulle

Researcher: Energy, environment and climate change

Climate change, mitigation and development 

  +27 (0)21 650 4303

mj.boulle@uct.ac.za

Dr Brett Cohen

Senior researcher: Energy systems analysis and planning

Lifecycle analysis; multi-criteria decision analysis; stakeholder facilitation; techno-environmental analysis

+27 (0)21 650 2573

brett.cohen@uct.ac.za

Mr Graham Gariseb

Researcher: Energy efficiency

  +27 (0)21 650 2833

graham.gariseb@uct.ac.za

Mr Andrew Hibberd

Group leader: Energy efficiency

  +27 (0)21 650 4802

andrew.hibberd@uct.ac.za

Ms Alison Hughes

Programme leader: Energy systems analysis and planning

Integrated energy and resource planning; energy efficiency and technology analysis; woodfuel energy demand dynamics; scenario-based mitigation analysis; city, provincial, national and regional energy analysis

+27 (0)21 650 3895

alison.hughes@uct.ac.za

Mr Wikus Kruger

Researcher: Energy, poverty  and development

+27 (0)21 650 4311

wikus.kruger@uct.ac.za

Mr Richard Larmour

Researcher: Energy efficiency

  +27 (0)21 650 3898

richard.larmour@uct.ac.za

Dr Amos Madhlopa

Programme leader: Renewable energy

  +27 (0)21 650 3897

amos.madhlopa@uct.ac.za

Dr Andrew Marquard

Senior researcher: Energy, environment and climate change

Climate change mitigation; energy policy and governance; energy, modelling & policy analysis

  +27 (0)21 650 3230

andrew.marquard@uct.ac.za

 

Mr Bryce McCall

Researcher: Energy systems analysis and planning

  +27 (0)21 650 4548

bryce.mccall@uct.ac.za

Mr Bruno Merven

Senior researcher: Energy systems analysis and planning

Integrated energy and resource planning; energy systems optimisation modelling; energy model development; techno-economic energy analysis; scenario-based analysis; city, provincial, national and regional energy analysis

+27 (0)21 650 5787

brunomerven@gmail.com

Ms Mascha Moorlach

Researcher: Energy efficiency

  +27 (0)21 650 2825

mascha.moorlach@uct.ac.za

Mr Alfred Moyo

Researcher: Energy, environment and climate change

Economic modelling

  +27 (0)21 650 2829

alfred.moyo@uct.ac.za

Dr Gisela Prasad

Group leader: Energy, poverty  and development

Energy access for the poor, efficient woodstove technology, job creation, poverty alleviation

+27 (0)21 650 2419

 gisela.prasad@uct.ac.za

Dr Britta Rennkamp

Reseacher: Energy, environment and climate change

Climate technology and policy in developing countries

  +27 (0)21 650 3662

  britta.rennkamp@uct.ac.za

Ms Mamahloko Senatla

Researcher: Energy systems analysis and planning

  +27 (0)21 650 5769

  m.senatla@uct.ac.za

Dr Debbie Sparks

Senior Researcher: Energy, environment and climate changee

Adaptation

  +27 (0)21 650 2825

debbie.sparks@uct.ac.za

Mr Alistair Stewart

Researcher: Energy efficiency

  +27 (0)21 650 4804

alistair.stewart@uct.ac.za

 

Mr Adrian Stone

Researcher: Energy systems analysis and planning

  +27 (0)21 650 3895

  adrian.stone@uct.ac.za

  Ms Louise Tait
Researcher: Energy, poverty  and development

  +27 (0)21 650 5931

  louise.tait@uct.ac.za

Ms Marta Torres Gunfaus
Senior Researcher: Energy, environment and climate change

  +27 (0)21 650 3896

marta.torresgunfaus@uct.ac.za 


ADMINISTRATIVE & SUPPORT STAFF

Ms Babalwa Frans

Operations Manager

  +27 (0)21 650 1949

Babalwa.Frans@uct.ac.za

Mr Richard Drummond

Editor

  +27 (0)21 650 3894

richard.drummond@uct.ac.za

Ms Fazlin Harribi

Postgraduate & administration

  +27 (0)21 650 4646

fazlin.harribi@uct.ac.za

Dr Tim James

Media

  +27 (0)21 650 3657

tim.james@uct.ac.za

Ms Bongeka Matubatuba

Secretary

  +27 (0)21 650 3230

bongeka.matubatuba@uct.ac.za