Search

Home > Staff

ERC staff

Researchers at ERC have qualifications in engineering, natural and environmental sciences, urban and regional planning, economics, law, political science, sociology and anthropology.

 

Andrew Hibberd 
Interim Director

 +27 (0)21 650 4802

  andrew.hibberd@uct.ac.za

 

 

RESEARCH STAFF

 

Dr Britta Rennkamp
Senior Researcher
Energy, environment and climate change group

 +27 (0)21 650 3662

  britta.rennkamp@uct.ac.za

 

 

Prof. Harald Winkler
Professor
Energy, environment and climate change group

 +27 (0)21 650 2100

 harald.winkler@uct.ac.za

 

 

Dr Andrew Marquard
Senior Researcher
Energy, environment and climate change group

  +27 (0)21 650 3230

andrew.marquard@uct.ac.za

 

 

Hilton Trollip
Senior Researcher
Energy, environment and climate change group

  +27 (0)21 650 1909

hilton.trollip@uct.ac.za 

 

 

Dr Debbie Sparks
Senior Researcher
Energy, environment and climate change group

  +27 (0)21 650 2825

debbie.sparks@uct.ac.za

 

 

Tara Caetano
Senior Researcher
Energy, environment and climate change

  +27 (0)21 650 3230

tara.caetano@gmail.com

 

 

Alfred Moyo
Researcher
Energy, environment and climate change group

Economic modelling

  +27 (0)21 650 2829

alfred.moyo@uct.ac.za

 

 

Mascha Moorlach
Senior Researcher
Energy efficiency group

  +27 (0)21 650 2825

mascha.moorlach@uct.ac.za

 

 

Richard Larmour
Senior Researcher
Energy efficiency group

  +27 (0)21 650 3898

richard.larmour@uct.ac.za

 

 

Alistair Stewart
Researcher
Energy efficiency group

  +27 (0)21 650 4804

alistair.stewart@uct.ac.za

 

 

Guy CunliffeGuy Cunliffe
Researcher
Energy efficiency group

  +27 (0)21 650 2833

guy.cunliffe@uct.ac.za

 

 

 

Alison Hughes
Senior Researcher
Energy systems analysis and planning

 +27 (0)21 650 3895

alison.hughes@uct.ac.za

 

 

Bruno Merven
Senior Researcher
Energy systems analysis and planning

+27 (0)21 650 5787

brunomerven@gmail.com

 

 

Fadiel Ahjum
Researcher
Energy systems analysis and planning

Intersection of water and power

  +27 (0)21 650 2577

 mf.ahjum@uct.ac.za

 

Bryce McCall
Researcher
Energy systems analysis and planning

  +27 (0)21 650 4548

bryce.mccall@uct.ac.za

 

 

Wiebke Toussaint
Data Scientist
Energy systems, economics and policy group

  +27 (0)21 650 3896

wiebke.toussaint@uct.ac.za

 

 

Dr Jiska de Groot
Researcher 
Energy, poverty and development group

+27 (0)21 650 3230

jiska.degroot@uct.ac.za

 

 

 

Dr Bothwell Batidzirai
Senior Researcher
Energy, poverty and development group

  +27 (0)21 650 3767

bothwell.batidzirai@uct.ac.za

 

 

Dr Amos Madhlopa
Group leader
Renewable energy group

  +27 (0)21 650 3897

amos.madhlopa@uct.ac.za

 

 

Samantha Keen
Researcher
Energy, environment and climate change group

  +27 (0)21 650 2831

samantha.keen@uct.ac.za

 

Jesse Burton
Energy systems, economics and policy group

  + 27 (0)21 650 2832

 jesse.burton.uct@gmail.com

 

ADMINISTRATIVE & SUPPORT STAFF

 

Bongeka Matubatuba
Secretary

  +27 (0)21 650 3230

bongeka.matubatuba@uct.ac.za

 

 

 

 

 

Fazlin Harribi
Postgraduate & administration

  +27 (0)21 650 4646

fazlin.harribi@uct.ac.za

 

 

Dr Mok Roberts
Scholarly Managing Editor: Journal of Energy in Southern Africa

  +27 (0)21 650 3894

 mok.roberts@uct.ac.za

 

 

Dr Tim James
Media

  +27 (0)21 650 3657

 tim.james@uct.ac.za

 

 

POST-DOCTORAL FELLOWS

Dr Kim Coetzee
ESRC/NRF Urban Energy Transformations project fellow
Low-carbon transitions, trade-energy-climate change nexus

  +27 (0)21 650 2831

kim.coetzee@uct.ac.za