Search

Home > Staff

ERC staff

ERC staff

Researchers at ERC have qualifications in engineering, natural and environmental sciences, urban and regional planning, economics, law, politics, sociology and anthropology.

Contact list - click on names for more details about staff members

Fax number for all staff members: +27 (021) 650 2830

 

Prof. Harald Winkler
Director of ERC

  +27 (0)21 650 2100

  harald.winkler@uct.ac.za

RESEARCH STAFF

Fadiel Ahjum
Researcher: Energy systems analysis and planning
Focus: intersection of water and power

  +27 (0)21 650 2577

 mf.ahjum@uct.ac.za

Dr Bothwell Batidzirai
Energy, poverty  and development
Energy access and inclusive green growth, bio-energy technology assessment, bio-based economy

  +27 (0)21 650 3767

bothwell.batidzirai@uct.ac.za

Tara Caetano
Researcher: Energy, environment and climate change

  +27 (0)21 650 3230

tara.caetano@gmail.com

 

Guy Cunliffe
Researcher: Energy efficiency

  +27 (0)21 650 2833

guy.cunliffe@uct.ac.za

Dr Jiska de Groot
Group leader: Energy, poverty  and development
Social science aspects of the deployment of renewable energy technologies, marine renewable energy, clean energy access, and poverty alleviation.

+27 (0)21 650 3230

jiska.degroot@uct.ac.za

Graham Gariseb
Researcher: Energy efficiency

  +27 (0)21 650 2833

graham.gariseb@uct.ac.za

Andrew Hibberd
Group leader: Energy efficiency

  +27 (0)21 650 4802

andrew.hibberd@uct.ac.za

Alison Hughes
Programme leader: Energy systems analysis and planning
Integrated energy and resource planning; energy efficiency and technology analysis; woodfuel energy demand dynamics; scenario-based mitigation analysis; city, provincial, national and regional energy analysis

 +27 (0)21 650 3895

alison.hughes@uct.ac.za

 

Samantha Keen
Researcher: Energy, environment and climate change

  +27 (0)21 650 2831

samantha.keen@uct.ac.za

Richard Larmour
Researcher: Energy efficiency

  +27 (0)21 650 3898

richard.larmour@uct.ac.za

Dr Amos Madhlopa
Group leader: Renewable energy

  +27 (0)21 650 3897

amos.madhlopa@uct.ac.za

Dr Andrew Marquard
Senior researcher: Energy, environment and climate change
Climate change mitigation; energy policy and governance; energy, modelling & policy analysis

  +27 (0)21 650 3230

andrew.marquard@uct.ac.za

Bryce McCall
Researcher: Energy systems analysis and planning

  +27 (0)21 650 4548

bryce.mccall@uct.ac.za

Bruno Merven
Senior researcher: Energy systems analysis and planning
Integrated energy and resource planning; energy systems optimisation modelling; energy model development; techno-economic energy analysis; scenario-based analysis; city, provincial, national and regional energy analysis

+27 (0)21 650 5787

brunomerven@gmail.com

Mascha Moorlach
Researcher: Energy efficiency

  +27 (0)21 650 2825

mascha.moorlach@uct.ac.za

Alfred Moyo
Researcher: Energy, environment and climate change
Economic modelling

  +27 (0)21 650 2829

alfred.moyo@uct.ac.za

Dr Britta Rennkamp
Researcher: Energy, environment and climate change
Climate technology and policy in developing countries

  +27 (0)21 650 3662

  britta.rennkamp@uct.ac.za

Dr Debbie Sparks
Senior Researcher: Energy, environment and climate change

  +27 (0)21 650 2825

debbie.sparks@uct.ac.za

Alistair Stewart
Researcher: Energy efficiency

  +27 (0)21 650 4804

alistair.stewart@uct.ac.za

Louise Tait
Researcher: Energy, poverty and development

  +27 (0)21 650

hilton.trollip@uct.ac.za

Marta Torres Gunfaus
Senior Researcher: Energy, environment and climate change

  +27 (0)21 650 3896

marta.torresgunfaus@uct.ac.za

Wiebke Toussaint
Data Scientist

  +27 (0)21 650 3896

wiebke.toussaint@uct.ac.za

Hilton Trollip
Senior Researcher: Energy, environment and climate change

  +27 (0)21 650 1909

hilton.trollip@uct.ac.za 

     


POST-DOCTORAL FELLOWS

     

Dr Kim Coetzee
ESRC/NRF Urban Energy Transformations project fellow
Low-carbon transitions, trade-energy-climate change nexus

  +27 (0)21 650 2831

kim.coetzee@uct.ac.za


ADMINISTRATIVE & SUPPORT STAFF

     

Dr Mok Roberts
Scholarly Managing Editor: Journal of Energy in Southern Africa

  +27 (0)21 650 3894

 mok.roberts@uct.ac.za

Ms Fazlin Harribi
Postgraduate & administration

  +27 (0)21 650 4646

fazlin.harribi@uct.ac.za

Dr Tim James
Media

  +27 (0)21 650 3657

 tim.james@uct.ac.za

Ms Bongeka Matubatuba
Secretary

  +27 (0)21 650 3230

bongeka.matubatuba@uct.ac.za