Search

Home > Staff

ERC staff

Researchers at ERC have qualifications in engineering, natural and environmental sciences, urban and regional planning, economics, law, politics, sociology and anthropology.

Contact list - click on names for more details about staff members

Fax number for all staff members: +27 (021) 650 2830

Andrew Hibberd
Interim Director

 +27 (0)21 650 4802

  andrew.hibberd@uct.ac.za

RESEARCH STAFF

Dr Britta Rennkamp
Co-Group Leader
Energy, environment and climate change group

Climate technology and policy in developing countries

 +27 (0)21 650 3662

  britta.rennkamp@uct.ac.za

  Samantha Keen
Co-Group Leader
Energy, environment and climate change group

  +27 (0)21 650 2831

samantha.keen@uct.ac.za

Prof. Harald Winkler
Senior Researcher 
Energy, environment and climate change group
Energy and climate policy; mitigation, poverty and inequality; development and mitigation pathways, plans and scenarios; equity; economics of mitigation; carbon pricing; energy for sustainable development.

 +27 (0)21 650 2100

 harald.winkler@uct.ac.za

Dr Andrew Marquard
Senior Researcher
Energy, environment and climate change group

Climate change mitigation; energy policy and governance; energy, modelling & policy analysis

  +27 (0)21 650 3230

andrew.marquard@uct.ac.za

Hilton Trollip
Senior Researcher
Energy, environment and climate change group

  +27 (0)21 650 1909

hilton.trollip@uct.ac.za 

Dr Debbie Sparks
Senior Researcher
Energy, environment and climate change group

  +27 (0)21 650 2825

debbie.sparks@uct.ac.za

Tara Caetano
Senior Researcher
Energy, environment and climate change

Economics of energy and climate change mitigation, including long-term emission development strategies, energy transitions, development economics, the circular economy

  +27 (0)21 650 3230

tara.caetano@gmail.com

Alfred Moyo
Researcher
Energy, environment and climate change group

Economic modelling

  +27 (0)21 650 2829

alfred.moyo@uct.ac.za

     
Mascha Moorlach
Group leader
Energy efficiency group

  +27 (0)21 650 2825

mascha.moorlach@uct.ac.za

Richard Larmour
Senior Researcher
Energy efficiency group

  +27 (0)21 650 3898

richard.larmour@uct.ac.za

Alistair Stewart
Researcher
Energy efficiency group

  +27 (0)21 650 4804

alistair.stewart@uct.ac.za

Guy Cunliffe Guy Cunliffe
Researcher
Energy efficiency group

  +27 (0)21 650 2833

guy.cunliffe@uct.ac.za

     
Alison Hughes
Group leader
Energy systems analysis and planning

Integrated energy and resource planning; energy efficiency and technology analysis; woodfuel energy demand dynamics; scenario-based mitigation analysis; city, provincial, national and regional energy analysis

 +27 (0)21 650 3895

alison.hughes@uct.ac.za

Bruno Merven
Senior Researcher
Energy systems analysis and planning

Integrated energy and resource planning; energy systems optimisation modelling; energy model development; techno-economic energy analysis; scenario-based analysis; city, provincial, national and regional energy analysis

+27 (0)21 650 5787

brunomerven@gmail.com

Fadiel Ahjum
Researcher
Energy systems analysis and planning

Intersection of water and power

  +27 (0)21 650 2577

 mf.ahjum@uct.ac.za

Bryce McCall
Researcher
Energy systems analysis and planning

  +27 (0)21 650 4548

bryce.mccall@uct.ac.za

Wiebke Toussaint
Data Scientist
Energy systems, economics and policy group

  +27 (0)21 650 3896

wiebke.toussaint@uct.ac.za

     
Dr Jiska de Groot
Group leader 
Energy, poverty and development group

Social science aspects of the deployment of renewable energy technologies, marine renewable energy, clean energy access, and poverty alleviation.

+27 (0)21 650 3230

jiska.degroot@uct.ac.za

Dr Bothwell Batidzirai
Senior Researcher
Energy, poverty and development group

Energy access and inclusive green growth, bio-energy technology assessment, bio-based economy

  +27 (0)21 650 3767

bothwell.batidzirai@uct.ac.za

Louise Tait
Part-time Researcher
Energy, poverty and development group
 
     
Dr Amos Madhlopa
Group leader
Renewable energy group

  +27 (0)21 650 3897

amos.madhlopa@uct.ac.za

 

 

 


POST-DOCTORAL FELLOWS

     

Dr Kim Coetzee
ESRC/NRF Urban Energy Transformations project fellow
Low-carbon transitions, trade-energy-climate change nexus

  +27 (0)21 650 2831

kim.coetzee@uct.ac.za


ADMINISTRATIVE & SUPPORT STAFF

Bongeka Matubatuba
Secretary

  +27 (0)21 650 3230

bongeka.matubatuba@uct.ac.za

Fazlin Harribi
Postgraduate & administration

  +27 (0)21 650 4646

fazlin.harribi@uct.ac.za

Dr Mok Roberts
Scholarly Managing Editor: Journal of Energy in Southern Africa

  +27 (0)21 650 3894

 mok.roberts@uct.ac.za

Dr Tim James
Media

  +27 (0)21 650 3657

 tim.james@uct.ac.za